Faculty promotions and tenure announced

Dear Colleagues,

It’s a great honor for me to congratulate this year’s class of promoted and tenured faculty, who have worked hard to meet rigorous standards in teaching, research and service. Their commitment to excellence in all that they do has helped them establish national and international reputations in their respective fields.

Please join me in congratulating these faculty for their professional achievements. I am grateful for them and their ongoing contributions to the success of Rice, as well as the Houston community and the world.

Promotions and tenure are effective July 1, 2023.

Promotion to full professor with tenure

Karthik Balakrishnan, Jones Graduate School of Business

Martin Blumenthal-Barby, Modern and Classical Literatures and Cultures

Philip Kortum, Psychological Sciences

Wei Li, Physics and Astronomy

Milivoje Lukić, Mathematics

Andriy Nevidomskyy, Physics and Astronomy

Brian Ogren, Religion

Jacob Robinson, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Chelsea Walton, Mathematics

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Damian Blättler, Shepherd School of Music

Ang Chen, Computer Science

Bryan Denny, Psychological Sciences

Pedram Hassanzadeh, Mechanical Engineering

Emily Houlik-Ritchey, English

Shengxi Huang, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lan Luan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Tomás Morín, English

Mary Prendergast, Anthropology

Todd Treangen, Computer Science

Omid Veiseh, Bioengineering

Haotian Wang, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Han Xiao, Chemistry

Kaiyuan Yang, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Promotion to associate research professor

Paul Cherukuri, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Evgeni Penev, Materials Science and Nanoengineering

Promotion to associate teaching professor

Robert Beaird, Physics and Astronomy

Josh Bernstein, Visual and Dramatic Arts

Jamie Catanese, BioSciences

Elizabeth McGuffey, Statistics

David Messmer, Program in Writing and Communication

Betul Orcan-Ekmekci, Mathematics

Warm Regards,
Provost Amy Dittmar