Award Description

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Award Category
Other Prestigious Fellowships, Grants and Awards
Award Application/Nomination Information

Applications are accepted.

Award Application/Nomination Deadline
Award Additional Information
Award Recipients

1995: Sarita Adve, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Peter Druschel, Computer Science; Pedro Alvarez*, Civil and Environmental Engineering
1997: Vicki Colvin, Chemistry; Lydia Kavraki, Computer Science
1998: Edward Knightly, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Pulickel Ajayan*, Materials Science and Engineering
1999: Satish Nagarajaiah, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Robert Nowak, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Jennifer West, Bioengineering
2000: Jacqueline Goveas, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Dan Wallach, Computer Science
2001: Susanne Stemmer, Mechanical Engineering
2002: Matteo Pasquali, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Junichiro Kono,Electrical and Computer Engineering ; Brendan Hassett, Mathematics
2003: Vijay Pai, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Chad Landis, Mechanical Engineering; Anatoly Kolomeisky, Chemistry; B.J. Fregly*, Mechanical Engineering; Jianpeng Ma*, Bioengineering; Laura Schaefer*, Mechanical Engineering
2004: Douglas Natelson, Physics and Astronomy; Cecilia Clementi, Chemistry; Chris Jermaine*, Computer Science
2005: Adrian Lenardic, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences; Yehia Massoud, Electrical and Computer Engineering; T. S. Eugene Ng, Computer Science; Robert Raphael, Bioengineering; ; Mark Embree, Computational and Applied Mathematics; Marcia O’Malley, Mechanical Engineering, Computer Science, and Electrical and Computer Engineering
2006: Scott Rixner, Computer Science; Eugene Zubarev, Chemistry; Andrew Schaefer*, Computational and Applied Mathematics
2007: Ramon Gonzalez, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Michael Diehl, Bioengineering; Jeffrey Hartgerink, Chemistry; Farinaz Koushanfar, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Claire Bowern, Linguistics; Fred Higgs*, Mechanical Engineering
2008: Wotao Yin, Computational and Applied Mathematics; Walid Taha, Computer Science; Shelly Harvey, Mathematics; Leonardo Duenas Osorio, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Lanny Martin, Political Science; Kartik Mohanram, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Fenglin Niu, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
2009: Sibani Biswal, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Oleg Igoshin, Bioengineering; Luay Nakhleh, Computer Science; Emilia Morosan, Physics and Astronomy; Daniel Cohan, Civil and Environmental Engineering
2010: Stephan Link, Chemistry; Junghae Suh, Bioengineering; Carrie Masiello, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences; Reggie DesRoches*, Civil and Environmental Science
2011: Zachary Ball, Chemistry; Swarat Chaudhuri, Computer Science; Lin Zhong, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Jeffrey Jacot, Bioengineering; Jamie Padgett, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Christy Landes, Chemistry; Adilet Imambekov, Physics and Astronomy
2012: Jonathan Silberg, BioSciences; Danijela Damjanovic, Mathematics; Amina Qutub, Bioengineering
2013: Rajdeep Dasgupta, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences; Laura Segatori, Bioengineering; Andrew Putman, Mathematics
2014: Rafael Verduzco, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Isabell Thomann, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Caleb Kemere, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Anthony Varilly-Alvarado, Mathematics; Andriy Nevidomskyy, Physics and Astronomy; Peterr Lillehoj*, Mechanical Engineering
2015: Stephen Bradshaw, Physics and Astronomy; László Kürti, Chemistry
2016: Matthew Foster, Physics and Astronomy; Jeffrey Tabor, Bioengineering; Genevera Allen, Statistics; Aydin Babakhani, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Aryeh Warmflash, Biosciences
2017: Vladimir Braveman*, Computer Science; Anshumali Shrivastava, Computer Science; Ashok Veeraraghavan, Electrical and Computer Engineering
2018: Simon Fischer-Baum, Psychology; Zoe Wool, Anthropology; Eric Chi*, Statistics; Xia Hu*, Computer Science
2019: Matthew Brake, Mechanical Engineering; Ronen Mukamel, Mathematics; Kaden Hazzard, Physics and Astronomy
2020: Rosa Uribe, BioSciences; Melodie French, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences; Laurence Yeung, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences; Ang Chen, Computer ScienceJesse Chan, Computational and Applied Mathematics; Shengxi Huang*, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Hans Renata*, Chemistry; Miranda Waggoner*, Sociology
2021: Yingyan Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Pedram Hassanzadeh, Mechanical Engineering; Vicente Ordóñez, Computer Science; Akane Sano, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Christopher Tunnell, Physics and Astronomy
2022: Adrienne Correa, Marine Biology; Xue Sherry Gao, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Nathan Dautenhahn, Computer Science; Matthew Jones, Chemistry; Raúl Hernández Sánchez*, Chemistry; Anastasious Kyrillidis, Computer Science; Guido Pagano, Physics and Astronomy; Daniel Preston, Mechanical Engineering; Geoff Wehmeyer, Mechanical Engineering; Jo Nelson, Mathematics; Thomas Senftle, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Kaiyuan Yang, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Vicky Yao, Computer Science
2023: James Chappell, Biosciences; Songtao Chen, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering; Taiyun Chi, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Kory Evans, Biosciences; Yimo Han, Materials Science and Nanoengineering; Kaiyu Hang, Computer Science; Danielle King, Psychological Sciences; Brandon Levin, Mathematics; Lauren Stadler, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Evelyn Tang, Physics and Astronomy; Todd Treangen; Computer Science; Hanyu Zhu, Materials Science and Nanoengineering
2024: Nai-Hui Chia, Computer ScienceAmanda Marciel, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Megan Reiter, Physics and Astronomy; Santiago Segarra, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mark Torres, earth, environmental and planetary sciences; Yonglong Xie, Physics

*Awarded prior to joining Rice